MRS6 Memo #9: Race 9

Reflektor dusted themself off after a hard-fought race. Despite a brilliant start, they had fallen to fifth by the end of the race. Given the circumstances, a disappointing finish, but a competitor always welcomes a top-five. 

“I almost had it!” Reflektor remarked to Slimer as they rolled to the podium. “I really could have taken another medal. That was a great race though Slimer, I didn’t even know you were there until you took my spot halfway through!”

“It was a fun one, wasn’t it? I wasn’t sure I would be able to beat you right to the very end!” Slimer replied. They had managed to snatch the third step of the podium away from Reflektor and Blizzard Blaster. However, Crazy Cat’s Eye was untouchable at the front, leading for nearly the whole race. Journalist Sandy was able to catch up with them in their podium interviews.

“That was an exhilarating race,” Crazy Cat’s Eye said as they rolled up to the podium, “I honestly didn’t know I was as far ahead as I was until I reached the finish and looked back to see my nearly two-second lead.” 

Ducktape approaches the finish as Crazy Cat’s Eye glances behind them.

“Two podiums in a row! You must be rolling on cloud nine!” said Sandy.

“Indeed I am,” replied Crazy Cat’s Eye, “and I’m feeling better than ever on the track. I’m starting to learn how important confidence is to success!”

“How was that early battle with Reflektor?” Sandy questioned. “It looked like you two were dueling pretty quickly!”

“Reflektor is a great competitor. If I’m honest, they’re unlucky not to have way more points than they do. It’s always a joy racing them, and they always put up a good fight.” Just then, the highlight of Crazy Cat’s Eye’s brilliant pass on Reflektor for the lead popped onto the screen. They smiled briefly and said chuckling, “It’s beautiful, isn’t it?”

(Oh, it’s beautiful.)

“It certainly is,” replied Sandy, moving on to silver medalist Ducktape.

“Hey Ducktape, fancy meeting you here again!”

“I know right? It’s becoming a sort of tradition,” laughed Ducktape. For being the second time in three races they had landed on the silver step of the podium, Ducktape was getting used to the interview process.

“You’re rolling on some very good form here lately. With one more race left, do you think you have what it takes to be the champion?”

“I see no reason why I can’t be,” Ducktape responded as they were handed the silver medal. “I’m racing great this season, one more good race and I’ll have a podium and a personal best season all in one!”

“I love the confidence, good luck in the final race,” Sandy said, rolling away to allow the podium finishers to celebrate. At about that time, the standings were revealed on the big screen. All three of the podium marbles could still win the league, and, for the first time since Race 4, Ghost Plasma had been dethroned as the points leader. Instead, just one point clear of the pack was Superball. The remaining six contenders met behind the podium.

“This’ll be fun,” remarked Superball.

“Indeed,” said Ghost Plasma, “May the best marble win.”

Crazy Cat’s Eye, Ducktape, and Slimer atop the podium for Race 9.

Credits

  • Writer: Mystic
  • Artist: Pim Leurs
  • Photographer: Jelle’s Marble Runs
  • Release: 07/04/2023

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started