MRS6 Memo #8: Appreci8ion

The first victor of a Marble Rally main tournament race, Pollo Loco looked like no stranger to the podium when they approached its top step at the end of this race. With eight medals over five seasons, “Pollota’s Pride” had become known as a fan favorite athlete, even if they, to date, have never placed above seventh overall at a season’s end.

“Fans’ enthusiasm over these past seven years has been my greatest motivation,” remarked Pollo Loco. “I’ve learned that the Marble Rally can be as unpredictable as it is skill-based. But the fact that we get to race at all is a gift.”

Despite living within proximity of the Surculo Elite League from a really young age, Pollo Loco and their family never had the resources to invest in an athletic career. Mass transportation did not service their town on the city’s outskirts until mid-2018, over a year after Pollo Loco had won a Marble Rally race. Pollo Loco got their big break in an event advocating for more accessible, reliable, and sustainable transportation: in a viral video, Pollo Loco and Tour de Vellis star El Capitan outran a trolley car in a relay race.

“I had always been training on the side, waiting in the wings…I owe El Capitan every performance I’ve given in the Marble Rally. I wish they had qualified this season.”

Pollo Loco and El Capitan split the podium aside H2Blue after Race 3 of the 2018 Showdown.

“You don’t give yourself enough credit – El Capitan would say the same thing if they were here,” said Slimer. “Or maybe it’s because you went vegan?”

Pollo Loco laughed. “Sure. That’s the payoff for four years of not eating chicken.”

We thanked Pollo Loco, applauding them as they took the top step of the podium for the first time since 2017. To our right, Sandy thanked Amethyst as they, too, approached the podium for their silver.

“Amethyst wasn’t ready to share an origin story just yet,” explained Sandy. “But they were as gracious as ever in their interview.”

Sharing their notes with us, we learned that Amethyst was just as nervous approaching this race as they were at the start of the season. But as they passed Cool Moody, Amethyst felt a sense of confidence for the first time, one that helped them reclaim a spot in the top three after a collision between Grasshopper and Lollipop propelled them from a slope. The affair nearly caused Grasshopper to spin out of the course, one race after earning their first career medal.

“That would have bugged me,” Grasshopper said. “But I’m glad I could get racing again. And I’m happy for Amethyst, too! They’re having quite the rookie season.”

Amethyst vaults back into a provisional P3 during the race.

With Crazy Cat’s Eye already on the bronze step, we thought we’d wait until after the race to interview them. In the meantime, we sat with Superball and Wisp of Darkness, fourth and fifth-place finishers respectively.

“How does it feel to be eight points away from a repeat title?” asked Wisp, who until the final few turns of the race was close to capturing a second bronze. “I can’t imagine that feeling myself.”

“I’m lucky that I can even imagine it. But I’m not in a position to take it for granted. I appreciate that I can pursue something I’m passionate about.”

“Me too.”

Pollo Loco, Amethyst, and Crazy Cat’s Eye on the podium for Race 8.

Credits

  • Writer: Stynth
  • Artist: Pim Leurs
  • Photographer: Jelle’s Marble Runs
  • Release: 03/04/2023

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started